Download our Mobile App - View Mobile Site  Join us on Facebook  twitter Weather YouTube      Chamber E-Newsletter

Governmental Affairs

Betsy Shelton
Betsy Shelton
Chair, Governmental Affairs

The role of the Chamber’s Governmental Affairs Committee is to relate to and ask for support from local, state, and federal governments on issues that affect the growth and prosperity of our community.

These priorities are selected by participating in a vast number of committees and task forces and are mostly projects that will directly benefit other entities.

As the Legislative season begins, the Governmental Affairs Committee and Chamber staff organize three major activities:

  • The Legislative Agenda Briefing—a time to share the priorities with local, state, and federal legislators.
  • The Drive-In to Frankfort—a time to meet with key state officials regarding the top one or two priorities.
  • The Fly-In to Washington DC—a time to meet with key federal officials regarding the top three priorities.

In addition, the Governmental Affairs Committee works closely with local officials to ensure that local priorities advance.

Where We Stand


Visit the U.S. Chamber's Vote for Business website for the latest federal issues affecting business.

Committee Roster

Committee Member Name Company Name
Betsy Shelton Heritage Bank
Mr Darrell Gustafson BB&T
Ms Holly Hampton Holly Hampton - Coldwell Banker/MetroNet Realtors
Lori Harper Rogers Group, Inc
Peg Hays Herb Hays Furniture
Don Henderson Henderson Realty Investors
Mick Henderson Commonwealth Agri-Energy, LLC
Carter Hendricks Christian County Chamber of Commerce
Jerod Kaufman Robinson Construction Company
Eric Lee Jennie Stuart Medical Center
Melissa Luttrull Jennie Stuart Medical Center
Mr Rich Maddux Propulsys, Inc
Ms Elizabeth McCoy Planters Bank
Kensley McLellan Christian County Chamber of Commerce
Mr Adam Murphy Lake Barkley Insurance
Mr Wade Northington Breathitt Veterinary Center MSU
Mr John Peck Heritage Bank
Wynn Radford Higgins Insurance, Inc
Mr. Mitch Robinson South Western Kentucky Economic Development Council
Ms Cindy Sholar Trigg County Chamber of Commerce
DeeAnna Yates Christian County Chamber of Commerce